Assam Bypoll: 64.58% Voter Turnout Recorded By 3 p.m.

Source: Twitter/CEOAssam
Source: Twitter/CEOAssam

An estimated 64.58 per cent of the total 7.96 lakh electors exercised their franchise till 3 p.m. on Saturday for bypolls to five Assam Assembly constituencies where voting is underway.

As per reports of Pratidin Time, so far the polling has been peaceful across all the constituencies and long queues were seen outside polling booths with voters and election officials adhering to Covid-19 protocols.  

The voting process began at 7 a.m. in 1, 176 polling stations in Gossaigaon, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani, and Thowra constituencies.

As of 11 am, the highest voter turnout has been recorded in Gossaigaon (71.11 pc), followed by Thowra (70.40pc), Bhabanipur (68 pc), Tamulpur (59 pc), and Mariani (54.79 pc).

The constituency having the highest number of electors out of the five constituencies is Tamulpur LAC having 2,17,432 electors. The constituency having the lowest number of electors is Thowra LAC having 1,15,971 electors.

A total of 31 candidates in Assam are in the fray and the polling will continue till 5 p.m.

Live monitoring and webcasting tools are being used by the ECI, Assam Chief Electoral Officer, and District Election Officer for monitoring of poll day proceedings as per ECI's direction. Webcasting is being done across all constituencies. Out of these, 285 are in 28-Gossaigaon, 213 at 41-Bhabanipur, 322 at 58-Tamulpur, 183 at 101-Mariani, and 173 at 107-Thowra constituencies.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time