BJP, UPPL Sweep Assam By-Polls

BJP, UPPL Sweep Assam By-Polls

BJP and its ally UPPL have swept all five Assembly seats in the Assam by-polls. However, the results are yet to be declared officially.

BJP candidate Sushanta Borgohain won the Thowra seat by a huge margin of 30,561 votes. Phanidhar Talukdar, another BJP candidate, won the Bhabanipur seat by 25,641 votes.

BJP's Rupjyoti Kurmi won from Mariani by a margin of 40,104 votes.

Meanwhile, UPPL candidates Jiron Basumatary and Jolen Daimary won the Gossaigaon and Tamulpur seats by a margin of 28,252 and over 50,000 votes respectively.

Taking to Twitter, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said, "In Assam, BJP and allies are all set to register emphatic win on all 5 constituencies in the bye-polls by huge margins. This is a loud endorsement of people's faith in visionary leadership of Hon PM Sri @narendramodi. Grateful to Sri @AmitShah and @JPNadda for your guidance."

Moreover, in Thowra and Tamulpur, the Congress party lost the security deposit while in Mariani it just managed to retain the security deposit by less than 500 votes. To retain a security deposit, a candidate has to get 1/6th of the total votes.

The state recorded a 73.77% voter turnout across all five constituencies. Secretariat Of The Election Commission of India released data highlighting the demographics in each constituency.

A total of 31 candidates in Assam were contesting and the polling went on till 5 p.m on Saturday.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time