Committee formed to implement ‘Clause-6’

Committee formed to implement ‘Clause-6’

As declared by Rajnath Singh regarding the cabinet decision of forming a High Level Committee on the implementation clause 6 of Assam Accord, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Government of India, has formed a nine-member committee.

As per notification issued by the Ministry on January 5, retired IAS officer MP Bezbarauah will head the nine-member committee. The Committee also consists of Subhash Das (Retired IAS), Dr Nagen Saikia (Former Assam Sahitya Sabha president), Dhiren Bezbaruah, Mukunda Rajbangshi, Ramesh Borpatragohain, Rongbong Terang (Former Assam Sahitya Sabha president), One representative of AASU and a Joint Secretary of MHA.

The Committee will examine the effectiveness of actions taken since 1985 to implement Clause 6 of the Assam Accord. It will also assess the appropriate level of reservation of seats in Assam Legislative Assembly and local bodies for the Assamese people. Further the Committee will also suggest measures to be taken to protect Assamese and other indigenous languages of Assam and it will recommend the appropriate level of reservations in employment under the Government of Assam for the Assamese people.

According to the notification issued by the MHA, the Committee will submit its report within 6 months from the date of notification.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time