Know your Lok Sabha constituency: Silchar

Know your Lok Sabha constituency: Silchar

Five Assam parliamentary constituencies will go to polls in the phase-II on April 18. Out of these constituencies, here are some details about the Silchar constituency:

In Silchar, there are 13 candidates in the fray for the seat.

The candidates are:

  1. Rajdeep Roy (BJP)
  2. Sushmita Dev (INC)
  3. Hitabrata Roy (All India Trinamool Congress)
  4. Nazia Yasmin Mazumdar (NPP)
  5. Badrul Islam Barbhuyan (All India Forward Bloc)
  6. Shyam Deo Kurmi (Socialist Unity Centre of India-Communist)
  7. Ashitava Dutta (Independent)
  8. Ashutosh Bhattacharjee (Independent)
  9. Nazmul Haque Laskar (Independent)
  10. Puran Lal Goala (Independent)
  11. Mohendra Chandra Das (Independent)
  12. Shuvadip Datta (Independent)
  13. Sabindra Das (Independent)

Out of these candidates, the major fight will be in between Congress' sitting MP Sushmita Dev and BJP's Rajdeep Roy.

  • Total voters in Silchar: 11,91,289
  • Male voters: 6,13,931
  • Female voters: 5,77,283
  • Transgender voters: 75
  • Total polling stations: 1,461

Assembly Constituencies:

  1. Silchar
  2. Sonai
  3. Dholai (SC)
  4. Udharbond
  5. Lakhipur
  6. Barkhola
  7. Katigorah

Results in last five Lok Sabha elections:

  • 1998: Kabindra Purkayastha (BJP)
  • 1999: Sontosh Mohan Dev (INC)
  • 2004: Sontosh Mohan Dev (INC)
  • 2009: Kabindra Purkayastha (BJP)
  • 2014: Sushmita Dev (INC)
(Data collected from

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time