Mizo polls : Cong announces candidates’ list

Mizo polls : Cong announces candidates’ list

On Thursday evening, the Mizoram Congress announced the names of 36 candidates to contest the 40-member Assembly on the November 28 polls.

The list of the candidates was announced by Lal Thanhawla at a meeting of party workers at the Aizawl Congress Bhavan.

The 76-year-old chief minister of Mizoram Lal Thanhawla, who is hopeful for a third consecutive term would contest from two constituencies Serchhip and Champhai South in the election to the 40-member state legislature to be held on November 28.

In 2013 polls, Lal Thanhawla contested and won from two constituencies, both in Serchhip district.

Seven sitting legislators were denied party tickets while 12 nominees would be fighting the polls for the first time. The names of four candidates — two from Siaha district, one from Lunglei district and one from Lawngtlai district — were yet to be announced.

The party has a single woman candidate in Cooperation Minister Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu. The average age of the nominees was 57.

There were four candidates below the age of 40, eight in the age group of 41-50, 14 in 51-60 range, four nominees in the 61-70 age group and five candidates above 70.

Congress, which has its government only in Mizoram in the entire North-East, faces a major challenge to hold its fort in the state poll on November 28.

Related Stories

No stories found.

No stories found.
Pratidin Time