Phase-III Campaigning Ending Today

Phase-III Campaigning Ending Today

Campaigning for the Third phase will come to an end on Sunday. 116 constituencies, spread over 13 states and 2 Union Territories, will go to polls on Tuesday.

In the third phase, voting will take place for all 26 constituencies in Gujarat; 20 in Kerala; 14 each in Maharashtra and Karnataka; 10 in Uttar Pradesh; seven in Chhattisgarh; six in Odisha; five each in Bihar and West Bengal; four in Assam; two in Goa; one each in Jammu and Kashmir, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Tripura.

The third phase of the poll scheduled in Assam to be held at Kokrajhar, Guwahati, Barpeta and Dhubri parliamentary polls, the political parties have intensified their campaigns to woo the voters.

Top leaders of various political parties are making last-ditch efforts to win the voters.While the prestigious Guwahati seat is likely to see straight fight between the Congress and the BJP, the rest 3 seats are expected to have triangular contest. Prediction stated that there will be a tough competition in Guwahati  between BJP candidate Queen Oza and congress candidate Babita Sarmah.

AIUDF President Badruddin Ajmal, senior minister and BPF leader Pramila Rani Brahma, former MP and AGP leader Kumar Dipak Das, sitting Congress MLA Abdul Khaleqe, sitting MP Naba Sarania, former Guwahati mayor and BJP candidate Queen Ojha are some of the candidates whose fate will be decided in the third phase.

In Barpeta  it would be a three-way contest with AIUDF, Congress, and alliance party. Three way contest will  be between Rakibul Islam, Abdul Khalek and Kumar Deepak Das respectively.

It may be mentioned that in Kokrajhar  four-way contest will take place between BJP-BPF alliance candidate Pramila Rani Brahma, CONGRESS candidate Sabdaram Rabha, UPPL's candidate Goura Brahma and independent candidate Naba Kumar Sarania.

According to political Researchers in Dhubri also people will see a three-way contest between Congress candidate Abbu Taher, AGP-BJP alliance candidate Javed Islam and AIUDF candidate Badaruddin Ajmal.

Senior BJP leader Sarbanand Sonowal, NEDA Chairman Himanta Biswa Sarma, Congress leader and former Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, state Congress President Ripun Bora are holding rallies and road show for the party candidates.

Related Stories

No stories found.

No stories found.
Pratidin Time