Public Holiday Declared for LS Polls

Representative Image
Representative Image

The state government of Assam has declared a local holiday in 12 districts on April 11 for the Lok Sabha polls.

The holiday has been given under the National Instruments Act (NIA) and all the government, non-government offices, educational institutes, banks and other commercial establishments will remain closed on the day. The holiday will be observed in Biswanath, Charaideo, Jorhat, Dhemaji, Dibrugarh, Golaghat, Lakhimpur, Majuli, Nagaon, Sivasagar, Sonitpur and Tinsukia on April 11.

On April 18, there will be a holiday in eight districts as the second phase of the poll will be held in these eight districts- Cachar, Darrang, Dima Hasao, Hailakandi, Hojai, Kamrup, Karbi Anglong, Morigaon, Nagaon, Nalbari, Udalguri and South Karbi Anglong.

Meanwhile, the third phase of the poll will be held on April 23 in 10 districts- Baksa, Barpeta, Kamrup, Bongaigaon, Chirang, Goalpara, South Salmara, Kamrup Metro, Kokrajhar and Dhubri.

The local holidays have been declared under the NI Act in three days when the election will take place in the respective districts in three phases.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time