Sportspersons honoured at UBC Assam Sports Awards 2018

Sportspersons honoured at UBC Assam Sports Awards 2018

In a glittering ceremony to celebrate excellence in sports by athletes form Assam, United Brothers Club (UBC) organised the UBC Assam Sports Awards 2018 in Guwahati on Sunday.

Assam's new track and field superstar, sprinter Hima Das received the 'Best Player of Assam 2017' award while 'Best Upcoming Player 2017' award went to Cricketer Riyan Parag, who was part of the World Cup winning Under-19 Indian cricket team this year.

Award for the 'Best Sports Organizer 2017' was grabbed by sports promoter, Bhabajyoti Kalita.

As many as 16 sportspersons from the State were felicitated in the ceremony, which was attended by a number of prominent personalities including Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal, Assam DGP Kuladhar Saikia, Additional chief secretary to the Assam government M.G.V.K. Bhanu, BJP leader Queen Ojha, UBC officials and jury members.

Also present in the ceremony was India's current national champion in the women's 100 metres event, Dutee Chand.

The felicitated sportspersons included tennis player Kristi Boro, footballer Pranjal Bhumij, tennis player Ashmita Chaliha, boxer Loveleena Borgohain, shooter Hriday Hazarika, swimmer Anyatam Rajkumari, table tennis player Tishna Gogoi, boxer Ankushita Boro, cyclist Anu Chutia, Para taekwondo player Biswajeet Roy and taekwondo player Rodali Barua.

After felicitating the sportspersons, CM Sonowal said "Sports in Assam is going through a great phase with upcoming talents making their mark and also getting exposure with national and international events being staged here. I believe platforms like UBC Awards are a great place to encourage and promote our sporting talents".

Related Stories

No stories found.