PM Modi Files His Nomination From Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minsiter Yogi Adityanath accompanied PM Modi to the DM office in Varanasi where he filed his nomination.
PM Modi Files His Nomination From Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat
PM Modi Files His Nomination From Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has officially entered the electoral arena once again, filing his nomination papers for the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat on Tuesday. Expressing his gratitude for the opportunity to represent this historic constituency, PM Modi emphasized the remarkable achievements made over the past decade with the support and blessings of the people. He pledged to further accelerate the pace of development in the times ahead.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minsiter Yogi Adityanath was also present at the DM office in Varanasi where the Prime Minsiter filed his nomination.

Ahead of filing his nomination earlier today, PM Modi offered prayers at Dashashwamedh Ghat on the banks of the Ganges in Varanasi. He then took a cruise ride to the Namo Ghat and reached the Kaal Bhairav temple to offer his prayers.

As the country progresses through the ongoing Lok Sabha elections of 2024, attention now turns to the fifth phase of voting scheduled for May 20. This phase encompasses 49 constituencies spread across six states and two Union Territories. Notable constituencies in focus include Amethi, Rae Bareli, and Lucknow in the state of Uttar Pradesh.

In Amethi, a closely watched contest unfolds as incumbent MP Smriti Irani faces off against Congress candidate KL Sharma in a bid for a second term. Meanwhile, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi contests from Rae Bareli against BJP's Dinesh Pratap Singh. Rae Bareli emerged as the second electoral battleground for Gandhi shortly after his victory in Kerala's Wayanad. In Lucknow, Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh seeks reelection for a third term as Lok Sabha MP.

Additionally, Kaiserganj emerges as another crucial constituency, with Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh's son Karan Bhushan Singh making his electoral debut. The incumbent MP and former Wrestling Federation of India president's son aim to make a mark in this electoral contest.

Reflecting on previous elections, in the 2019 general elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured 62 out of the 80 seats it contested, while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) led by Mayawati won 10 seats. The Samajwadi Party and Apna Dal (Secular) managed to secure only 5 and 2 seats, respectively. The Congress party could secure only one seat in this electoral battle.

In the 2014 elections, the BJP's dominance was even more pronounced, clinching 71 out of the 80 seats it contested. The Samajwadi Party secured 5 seats, while the Congress and Apna Dal each won 2 seats.

PM Modi Files His Nomination From Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat
'We Will Make Pakistan Wear Bangles', Asserts PM Modi in Bihar Rally

Related Stories

No stories found.

No stories found.
Pratidin Time