APJ Abdul Kalam: A Tribute

APJ Abdul Kalam: A Tribute
My message, especially to young people is to have courage to think differently, courage to invent, to travel the unexplored path, courage to discover the impossible and to conquer the problems and succeed. These are great qualities that they must work towards. This is my message to the young people. – Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam

Today, the 27th of July marks the fourth death anniversary of one of India's greatest leaders Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam. A person who died, evidently due to a cardiac arrest, doing what he loves doing the best – interacting with students. Kalam died in 2015 while delivering a speech at IIM Shillong.

Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul was the 11th President of India, from 2002 to 2007, who is popularly known as the 'Missile Man of India' for his work on the development of ballistic missiles, Agni and Prithvi, and launch vehicle technology.

The erstwhile President worked for the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) for more than 20 years following which he took the responsibility of developing indigenous guided missiles at Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).

Dr Kalam also served as the Scientific Adviser to the Defence Minister of India between 1992 and 1999. It was during this period that India conducted the nuclear bomb test explosions at Pokhran. He engineered the Pokhran-II nuclear tests which earned India a place among the top nations, such as USA, China, UK, France, and Russia, with Nuclear Prowess.

Not only in the sphere of applying science and technology in developing the defence system of the nation but Dr Kalam had left his mark in the medical space as well. In collaboration with cardiologist Dr B Soma Raju the former President developed India's first coronary stent in 1994. The stent came to be known as the Kalam-Raju-Stent which reduced prices of imported coronary stents in India by more than 50 per cent.

On this day, the BJP government on their official Twitter handle paid their tributes to the former President.

Congress too, wrote a few lines dedicating to the inspiration we call 'People's President'.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah paid his tributes to the great leader.

Other renowned leaders such as Ravi Shankar Prasad, Smriti Irani, Yogi Adityanath, Mamata Banerjee, Arvind kejriwal, Capt. Amarinder Singh and YS Jagan Mohan Reddy remembered the 'Missile Man of India' on his death anniversary.

Related Stories

No stories found.

No stories found.
Pratidin Time