Naveen to contest from two seats

Naveen to contest from two seats

For the first time in a political career spanning over two decades Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik will contest from two seats – Bijepur in Bargarh district and Hinjili in Ganjam district – in the upcoming Assembly elections. While Naveen is representing Hinjili in the Assembly for the last four terms since 2000, he will venture for the first time outside his home turf by contesting from Bijepur seat.

While the opposition BJP and Congress have attributed Naveen's move to his 'not so secure'.

Patnaik himself announced that the first list of BJD candidates for nine of the 21 Lok Sabha and 54 of the 147 assembly seats in the state. The chief minister, who is seeking re-election for the fifth consecutive term, said he will contest the state polls from Hinjili in Ganjam district and Bijepur in west Odisha's Bargarh district.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time