Hima Das Wins Gold

Hima Das Wins Gold
Hima Das (File Image)

Sprinter Hima Das on Tuesday night won the women's 200m gold in the Poznan Athletics Grand Prix.

The 'Dhing Express' clocked 23.65s while teammate V.K. Vismaya pipped Poland's Iga Baumgart-Witan to finish third in a personal best 23.75s. Vismaya had clocked a personal best in the 400m a few days ago.

It may be mentioned here that the Hima Das has a personal best of 23.10s in the 200m event.

Moreover, India won three more bronze medals in the event.

The results (events featuring Indians):

Men: 200m: 1. Thando Dlodlo (RSA, 20.60s), 3. Muhammed Anas (20.75), 5. Nirmal Noah Tom (21.30), Mohan Kumar (DNF). 400m: 1. Rafal Omelko (Pol, 46.92s), 3. K.S. Jeevan (47.25), 5. Kunhu Muhammed (47.48). Shot put: 1. Michal Haratyk (Pol, 21.26m), 3. Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (19.62).

Women: 200m: 1. Hima Das (23.65s), 3. V.K. Vismaya (23.75), 6. Sonia Baishya (24.50).

400m (overall after races 'A' and 'B'): 1. Roxana Gomez (Cub, 52.24s), 5. Sarita Ben (54.21), 6. R. Vithya (54.33), 7. V. Subha (54.35), 9. V.K. Shalini (56.14).

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time