Manipur: ECI announces Re-poll in 12 polling stations

The re-polling will be held on March 5 when 22 constituencies of the state will go to polls.
ECI logo

ECI logo

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has ordered re-polling in 12 polling stations under five assembly constituencies in Churachandpur, Imphal East and Kangpokpi districts of Manipur.

The re-polling will be held on March 5 when 22 constituencies of the state will go to the second and last phase of polling.

Re-polling will be held are in five assembly constituencies which include Khundrakpam, Saitu, Thanlon, Henglep and Churachandpur assembly constituencies.

The polling stations going for repoll include Sarouthel, New Keithelmanbi, Songsang, Maite, Tinsuong, Majuron Kuki, N Chingphei, Khoirentak, Molsang, Leinom, Teikot and Maukot.

Many incidents of violence were reported from these polling stations during the first phase of assembly elections held in the state on February 28.

Also Read: Centre discusses evacuation efforts to rescue Indians stranded in Ukraine

Re-poll in these polling stations was recommended based on the information received and reported by respective polling officials.

Decision of re-polling was taken as Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) were damaged by miscreants during and after the poll.

As per reports, supporters of the ruling BJP and opposition Congress clashed in the Sugnu assembly constituency on Wednesday night. Over a dozen vehicles were damaged in the clash.

Another poll-related violence broke out at Kakching Khunou when a large number of alleged BJP supporters had attacked a camp of the Congress.

Also Read: Operation Ganga: More Indians Flown In From Ukraine

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time