Mukul Sangma, 9 Others Issued Notice by Meghalaya Speaker

Mukul Sangma, 9 Others Issued Notice by Meghalaya Speaker

Meghalaya Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh issued notices to TMC legislature party leader Mukul Sangma and nine other MLAs seeking their reply to a petition for their disqualification from the House, an official said.

The former Meghalaya Chief Minister has been directed by the Speaker to reply to the notice within seven days, the official said.

"Notices have been issued to all 10 MLAs including All India Trinamool Congress legislature party leader Mukul Sangma following a petition by Congress MLA Ampareen Lyngdoh seeking their disqualification under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution of India," Assembly Commissioner and Secretary Andrew Simon told PTI.

Ampareen Lyngdoh, who was elected the Congress legislature party leader following the switch over of 12 party MLAs to TMC, moved the speaker for their disqualification from the House on various counts under the tenth schedule of the Constitution and Rule 6 of The Members of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on ground of defection) Rules, 1988.

Mukul Sangma had led a political coup on November 25 in which he and 11 other Congress MLAs deserted the party and merged with AITC making it the principal opposition party in the 60-member House.

Ampareen Lyngdoh contended that she had lodged complaints against 10 MLAs barring AITC state president Charles Pyngrope and Shitlang Pale. Petitions against them will also be submitted within a day or two.

The senior Congress leader thanked the speaker for the notices his office issued on Wednesday. She said, "It is important for us that the office of the speaker has acted promptly on my petition. The process will move forward in accordance with the law and I am confident that I have justifiable grounds to seek their disqualification."

Related Stories

No stories found.
Pratidin Time